English Night 2013: A Spring Celebration

On April 18, undergraduate and graduate students of the English department gathered in the Reinsch Auditorium to celebrate their hard work and dedication towards fulfilling the requirements of completing their respective academic programs.

Dr. Marguerite Rippy, the department chair, opened the ceremony by welcoming students and their families, and offered words of encouragement. Seven undergraduate students earning their BAs this year received recognition for their academic achievement: Walter Bottlick, Courtney Deal, Stephanie Flood, Emily Girous, Megan Kennedy, Mary Kate Mulligan, and Ben Reigle. Ten graduate students received recognition for their academic achievement and had the tentative titles of their theses read aloud: Martinelle Allen, Rawan Alnefaee, Thayer Dortch, Konstantin Gulish, Ellen Kay, Lindsay Renée Murphy, Ben Norris, Ann Stedman, Alyce Suskto, and Jaymi Thomas.

Additionally, awards were presented to students for specific academic accomplishments. Dr. Sarah Ficke awarded undergraduate Melanie Su with the Robert Reed Award, which is presented annually for the best writing piece submitted to Magnificat, the English department’s journal of undergraduate non-fiction. Dr. Tonya Howe presented Walter Bottlick with the Evelyn Ludlow Award for the best research essay in the English Senior Seminar course. Courtney Deal and Mary Kate Mulligan were the two other finalists of this award and they also received certificates. Lindsay Murphy received the Outstanding Graduate Award, and Courtney Deal received the Outstanding Undergraduate Award.

Also in attendance were four Marymount alums: Adrianne Morris (Class of 2012), Kristen Porter (Class of 2009), Caitlin Rizzo (Class of 2011), and Summer Parrish (MA, Class of 2004). These former graduates led a panel discussion on “Creating A Strategy for Your First Years After Graduation: Internships, Jobs, Graduate Schools,” offering advice and answering questions about topics from professionalism to self-advocacy.

Much-beloved colleagues Dr. Boyd Hagy, Dr. Sean Hoare, and Professor Rhett Leverett, faculty members who passed away in the 2012-2013 academic year, were recognized for their commitment and dedication to the department. Dr. Howe created a brief video in their memory, which can be viewed on our YouTube channel.

To close out the night, two current Marymount professors were acknowledged for earning tenure: Dr. Bess Fox and Dr. Hollynd Karapetkova. Please make sure that you take the time to congratulate them for their accomplishments!


This entry was posted in Alumni, Events, Faculty, Publications & Projects, Students. Bookmark the permalink.